Breaking News

Philippine Presidents endorsed by the Iglesia ni Cristo

Philippine Presidents endorsed by the Iglesia ni Cristo

The May 9, 2022 election have passed and by now we already have heard and seen the voice of the majority. The latest in the partial and unofficial counting by the COMELEC shows the votes of Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos, Jr. leading with 31,105,175 against VP Leni Robredo’s 14,822,051 as of May 13, 2022, 2:47 PM and from 98.35% of election returns.

It is also known that the Iglesia ni Cristo’s bloc voting power aided Marcos’ landslide victory in the 2022 Philippine election poll.

In a few days, the 17th President of the Republic of the Philippines will be proclaimed.

Here are all the presidential candidates endorsed by the Iglesia ni Cristo from 1935 up to this season of 2022 poll.

1935 and 1941 – Manuel Quezon was endorsed by Iglesia ni Cristo in 1935 and 1941. In the 1935 election, Quezon defeated former President Emilio Aguinaldo.

1944 – There is no information who INC supported in this election won by Sergio Osmeña.

1946 – The INC backed Manuel Roxas in his victory over former President Sergio Osmeña.

1948 – INC supported Jose Avelino, who was defeated in the 1948 election by Elpidio Quirino, who also defeated former President Jose P. Laurel.

1953 – President-elect Ramon Magsaysay has not publicly accepted the INC’s endorsement, but has been a staunch supporter of INC founder Felix Manalo until his death.

1957 – There is no information on who the INC endorsed. This election was won by Carlos P. Garcia.

1961 – The INC backed Diosdado Macapagal, but the former president who won the election in 1961 refused the endorsement.

1965, 1969, 1981, 1986 – From 1965 to 1986, INC was a staunch supporter of former President Ferdinand E. Marcos.

1992 – The church backed Eduardo “Danding” Cojuangco, Jr., who lost the 1992 election to Fidel V. Ramos.

1998 – Former Vice President Joseph Estrada won the 1998 election thanks to the bloc voting of the INC.

2001 – Gloria Macapagal Arroyo became the 14th President of the Philippines as a result of the EDSA Dos political protest, which peacefully overthrew President Joseph Estrada’s government, which was backed by the INC.

2004 – The INC backed incumbent President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo, who defeated actor Fernando Poe, Jr., Ping Lacson, Raul Roco, and religious leader Eddie Villanueva in the election.

May 10, 2010 – Iglesia ni Cristo endorsed the Liberal Party’s nominees, Sen. Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III and Sen. Mar Roxas. Gibo Teodoro, Eddie Villanueva, and Dick Gordon were defeated by Aquino.

May 9, 2016 –  On May 4, the INC leadership announced their endorsed candidates, then-Mayor Rodrigo Roa Duterte and Bongbong Marcos. The endorsement, according to Duterte’s campaign, is a “significant boost.” Duterte won the election, while Marcos, Jr. was defeated by Congresswoman Leni Robredo in a contentious election fraud scandal.

May 9, 2022 – On May 3, 2022, the Iglesia Ni Cristo officially endorsed Bongbong Marcos, Jr. and Sara Duterte-Carpio as their candidates for the May 9 national election. The announcement was aired on the Iglesia ni Cristo’s Net 25.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: