Netflix has announced that it will start automatically cancelling accounts that have been inactive for long periods of time.

This goes out to all accounts that were left unused for a year or longer. Subscribers will receive a notification from the company, asking if they want to continue their subscription. This will likely take the form of an email.

Product innovation director Eddy Wu wrote in a blog post on Netflix’s website: “You know that sinking feeling when you realise you signed up for something but haven’t used it in ages? At Netflix, the last thing we want is people paying for something they’re not using.”

“So we’re asking everyone who has not watched anything on Netflix for a year since they joined to confirm they want to keep their membership. And we’ll do the same for anyone who has stopped watching for more than two years,” Wu wrote on the blog post.

Members will start seeing these emails or in app notifications this week. If they don’t confirm that they want to keep subscribing, we’ll automatically cancel their subscription. If anyone changes their mind later, it’s really easy to restart Netflix.”

If I were you, start using your Netflix account. If you think that what you’re paying is too much, you can try the P149/month subscription plan.

Or you can start with these:

Choose a plan that suits your needs.

Anyways, if you’re account is cancelled, the streaming service will have retained their old viewing history and preferences, should you decide to reactivate your Netflix account again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *